Records comprising copies of turnpike acts, 1763-1835; records relating to Carmarthenshire Main Trust, 1799-1845, including order books, 1804-1845, letters, 1826-1845, bills and miscellaneous papers, 1800-1845, accounts, 1805-1845, balance sheets, 1823-1842, vouchers and receipts, 1837-1845, quarterly labour account books, 1804-1840, legal papers 1823-1834, petitions and reports relating to several toll gates and papers relating to toll gate damage, 1843-1844, papers relating to surveyors, 1812-1844, and the construction of new roads, 1799-1828; Carmarthen and Newcastle Turnpike Trust minutes, 1834-1845, and statements of expenditure, 1835; Kidwelly Trust records, 1779-1845; Llandeilo Rwnws Trust minutes, 1784-1845, papers and deeds, 1791-1844; Tivyside Trust minutes, 1809-1834; Carmarthenshire County Roads Board minutes, 1845-1889, expenditure, 1845-1899, letters, 1850-1862; minutes, letters, accounts, expenditure and other papers of Carmarthen, Llandovery, Llanelly, Three Commotts and Llandilofawr District Roads Boards, 1845-1889; and Carmarthenshire County Council, Main Roads Sub-committee, minutes, 1899-1903.
Turnpike Trust Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Turnpike trusts were created by private Acts of Parliament. They comprised a group of trustees, usually members of the local gentry, and funds were provided by subscribers (or tally holders). Their purpose was to upgrade specific stretches of road and they were authorised to levy tolls in order to repay their subscribers. In Carmarthenshire the first trust, known as the Main Trust, was set up in 1763 to improve the important east-west road traversing the county. It was eventually joined by another dozen trusts, responsible for their own stretches of road, and in some instances bridges. They included the Kidwelly Trust, the Llandeilo and Llandybie Trust, the Llandeilo Rwnws Bridge Trust, the Three Commotts Trust, the Carmarthen and Lampeter Trust and Carmarthen and Newcastle Trust. In the aftermath of the Rebecca Riots (1839-1844) the report of the "Commission of Inquiry for South Wales" recommended changes to the turnpike system. This resulted in the abolition of the Trusts and the creation of the Carmarthenshire County Roads Board in 1845 to supervise the road system, along with several district roads boards to administer them. These in turn were abolished with the formation in 1889 of Carmarthenshire County Council and its Main Roads Sub-committee.
Volumes TT 1-46 are arranged alphabetically; the remainder of the fonds is unarranged.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited in Carmarthenshire Record Office
Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used to compile this description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Turnpike Trust Records; Williams, David, The Rebecca Riots: A Study in Agrarian Discontent (Cardiff, 1955); National Library of Wales, Cardiganshire County Roads Board.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records have been retained.
Accruals are not expected