Comprising: log book 1900-1913
OWSTON AND SKELLOW COUNCIL SCHOOL RECORDS
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
This school opened in 1900 as Owston and Skellow United District Board School after the closure of Carcroft Church of England Voluntary School. The board school used the same premises as the old church school. School Boards were abolished by the 1902 Education Act and the school then came under the control of the West Riding County Council. The last entry in the log book (pages 135-136) records that the local population had substantially increased since the sinking of Bullcroft Colliery in 1908. This had led to overcrowding in this school and the temporary accommodation provided in 1910. In 1913, the new Owston Carcroft Council School was opened and the school was closed.
The collection consists of a single series:
SR92/1: Log Book
Access will be granted to any member of Doncaster Libraries