Grimsby Steam and Diesel Fishing Vessels' Engineers' and Firemen's Union

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Various minutes, 1900-1, 1914-87 (incomplete); files re 'Cod War', 1960-76; press-cuttings, 1930s, 1950s-80s; Grimsby Enginemen's Club and Institute: minutes, 1925-36.

Administrative / Biographical History

The union was founded as the Grimsby Steam Fishing Vessels' Engineers' and Firemen's Union in 1896. It changed its name to the Grimsby Steam and Diesel Fishing Vessels' Engineers' and Firemen's Union in 1961. In 1976 it transferred engagements to the Transport and General Workers' Union.

Reference: Arthur Marsh and Victoria Ryan, Historical directory of trade unions. Volume 3.Aldershot : Gower, 1987.

Conditions Governing Access

Prior written permission to consult the archive is required. Researchers should apply to the Mr R. Scott, TGWU, Transport House, Palace Street, London, SW1E 5JD. A twenty year closure rule applies.

Archivist's Note

The archive forms part of the larger Transport and General Workers' Union archive in the Centre. Authority files exist for the Grimsby Steam and Diesel Fishing Vessels' Engineers' and Firemen's Union (GB 152 AAR364) and its predecessor, the Grimsby Steam Fishing Vessels' Engineers' and Firemen's Union (GBR 0152 AAR363).

Custodial History

The records of the Grimsby Steam and Diesel Fishing Vessels' Engineers' and Firemen's Union were deposited on indefinite loan in the Modern Records Centre on the 9th December 1987 through the good offices of Mr A. Sandford, District Officer, and Mr R. Scott, National Secretary for Research and Education.