The Cambrian Welfare Association was also known as the Clydach Vale [Blaenclydach] Welfare Association.
The miners' institutes and halls which set up welfare funds and facilities for coal miners developed from the latter part of the nineteenth century.
In 1920 under the 1920 Mining Industry Act, the Miners' Welfare Fund was set up to be administered by the Miners' Welfare Commission. The fund provided amenities for the miners, including welfare hallsand institutes, pit-baths and scholarships and welfare funds. Many institutes and welfare halls received maintenance grants after 1920 from this fund.