Typescript copies, with manuscript notes, of the building accounts of Dartford manor house, 1541-4 (MSS. Rawl. D. 783-4), with (c. 14) a paper by J.W. Kirby based upon the accounts, entitled 'The manor house of Henry VIII at Dartford', c. 1959.
Transcript of the building accounts of Dartford manor house
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 161 MSS. Top. Kent c. 13-14
- Dates of Creation[ca. 1959]
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description2 shelfmarks
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Shortly after the first dissolution of Dartford Priory in 1539, Henry VIII decided to provide himself with a series of houses on the road from London to the coast. Buildings formerly associated with Dartford Priory were demolished, and Dartford manor house was erected in their stead. The accounts were kept by James Needham (fl 16th century), one of the surveyors of the King's works at Dartford.
Conditions Governing Access
Entry to read in the Library is permitted only on presentation of a valid reader's card (for admissions procedures see http://www.bodley.ox.ac.uk).
Given to the Library in 1959.
Collection level description created by Susan Thomas, Department of Special Collections and Western Manuscripts.
Other Finding Aids
M. Clapinson and T.D. Rogers, Summary Catalogue of Post-Medieval Western Manuscripts in the Bodleian Library Oxford. Acquisitions 1916-1975. (Oxford, 1991), vol. II, nos. 54402-3.