Registers of Electors for Flintshire

Scope and Content

Comprises registers of electors for county of Flintshire for years 1832, 1834-1839, 1852 and 1857.

Administrative / Biographical History

Registers of electors in the county of Flintshire, north Wales were compiled in the nineteenth century according to electoral divisions, which, along with the county boundary, were redrawn as part of local government reorganisation of counties in Wales and England during the 1970's and 1990's. Having been in existence for almost seven centuries, the historic county of Flintshire was abolished as part of local government reorganisation in 1974 when it was absorbed into the newly created county of Clwyd, which was itself abolished during the further reorganisation in 1996 when four new county authorities were created known as Flintshire, Denbighshire, Wrexham County Borough and Conwy County Borough. The new Flintshire and Denbighshire county boundaries are considerably different from those of the historic counties of the same names.


Material is arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users


Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, May 2002.

Other Finding Aids

Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department, University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: folio 36135-36145

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.