Fifield is a small parish in the west of the county near Shipton under Wychwood which was a chapelry of Swinbrook until 1754. In 1864-5 it united with the neighbouring parish of Idbury to become the parish of Fifield with Idbury and remained thus until 1980 when it again amalgamated with the parishes of Shipton under Wychwood and Milton under Wychwood.
A first deposit of records was made to the Bodleian Library in 1974. After their transferral here, three further deposits were made; in 1988 (Acc. 2811), 1993 (Acc. 3641) and 1994 (Acc. 3909). Two earlier deposits were made here in 1974 (Accs. 1144 and 1147), which were originally catalogued as 'Misc. Fifield'. Appendices list the contents of each deposit, and provide a concordance of old and new references.
Recatalogued in May 1996 by Alice Blackford.