Mid Glamorgan County Library, Transfers

Scope and Content

Abertridwr Workmen's Institute accounts 1927-1937 and 1957-1962;

bakery accounts ledger for P.T. Anthony's, Abertridwr, 1915-1917;

Flower of Llynvi Freemasons register of members 1893;

Wages book, probably of Port Talbot Steel Co. Ltd., 1906-1907;

plans relating to Nantyffyllon Institute, 1915-1926;

miscellaneous plans of collieries c. 1900-1930;

the Earl Grey Inn 1894 and new cottage of G.W.R. and c.1900-1910 at Llwydcoed, Aberdare;

plans of Tower Colliery c. 1920, and other plans.

Administrative / Biographical History

Abertridwr Workmen's Institute was opened in 1910. The bakery belonging to Peter Thomas Anthony and is recorded in directories 1914-1926 at 27 and 29 Thomas Street, Abertridwr. Oswald D. Davies, architect, is recorded at 8 Court Street, Nantyffyllon, Maesteg, in 1914. The origins of the Flower of Llynvi Lodge, no.1346, of the Freemasons, are obscure but it is recorded in directories in 1926. The lodge was probably united at some subsequent date with Llynfi Lodge, Maesteg, formed in 1903. The provenance of the wages book is uncertain but appears to relate to the Port Talbot Steel Co. Ltd. Descriptions of industrial procedures, purchases and employees suggest a metallurgical works and there are references to a manager Walter B. Turnock, Cadoxton House, Aberavon. The Port Talbot Steel Co. Ltd. was formed in August 1906 and passed in 1916 to Baldwins Ltd.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements

Fair condition

Custodial History

The records were transferred from Mid Glamorgan County Library, Bridgend, but their provenance is uncertain. Some of the plans relate to the coal industry and may originate with the former National Coal Board; the remainder relate the Maesteg area and were