Society records of the Methodist Church, York, Monk Bar United Methodist Free Church Chapel

Scope and Content

Register of baptisms, 1866-1929; register of marriages, 1901-1917, 1919-1929; Trustees' meetings minute books, 1858-1918; bank book, 1900-1908; deeds and promissory notes relating to the chapel, 1857-1908; Monk Bar Magazine, 1904; papers relating to the sale of the chapel, 1933-1935.

Administrative / Biographical History

York, Monk Bar Chapel opened in 1859. Built on the junction of Aldwark and Goodramgate, it replaced the rented room in St Saviourgate previously used by the congregation, and was the head of the only York United Methodist Free Church Circuit.

The chapel could accommodate 800 people and included a schoolroom, three additional classrooms, a caretaker's house and a tearoom.

In 1907 a second United Methodist Circuit was formed from Trinity New Connexion Chapel. Although these were amalgamated in 1911 under Monk Bar chapel, in 1914 this was reversed and Monk Bar entered into a period of decline.

Plans to sell the building were averted in 1919 when it joined with York Central Mission and became known as Monk Bar Central Mission. However in 1934 it was closed permanently and the building was sold soon after.

As of 2016 the chapel building still stands on Goodramgate and is used as a commercial premises.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1992. A further addition was made to the archive in 1992.

Note

York, Monk Bar Chapel opened in 1859. Built on the junction of Aldwark and Goodramgate, it replaced the rented room in St Saviourgate previously used by the congregation, and was the head of the only York United Methodist Free Church Circuit.

The chapel could accommodate 800 people and included a schoolroom, three additional classrooms, a caretaker's house and a tearoom.

In 1907 a second United Methodist Circuit was formed from Trinity New Connexion Chapel. Although these were amalgamated in 1911 under Monk Bar chapel, in 1914 this was reversed and Monk Bar entered into a period of decline.

Plans to sell the building were averted in 1919 when it joined with York Central Mission and became known as Monk Bar Central Mission. However in 1934 it was closed permanently and the building was sold soon after.

As of 2016 the chapel building still stands on Goodramgate and is used as a commercial premises.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Alternative Form Available

A copy of the baptismal register, 1866-1901, is also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 1784).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 23.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York, Monk Bar Circuit of the United Methodist Free Church are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute, as are records of York, Central Chapel, which amalgamated with Monk Bar Chapel in 1919.

Additional Information

Published

GB193