Deeds and documents, 1736-1816, relating mainly to the Erryd estate and other land in the parishes of Cil-y-cwm and Cynwyl Gaeo, Carmarthenshire.
Erryd estate, Cilycwm, papers
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 ERRYD ESTATE
- Dates of Creation1736-1816
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.015 Cubic metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Messrs Pennington and Son, solicitors, of London, accumulated papers relating to the Erryd estate, Cil-y-cwm, Carmarthenshire. It was the seat of the Griffiths family from the 18th century; John Griffiths (d. 1740) inherited the land from his uncle, Rees Price. By 1816, the estate was owned by John Griffiths of St James, Middlesex.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Messrs Pennington and Son, solicitors, London, per archivist of London County Council, 1962.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Solicitors Records; Richards, Melville, Welsh Administrative and Territorial Units (Cardiff 1969); Jones, Major Francis, Historic Houses of Carmarthenshire and Their Families (Newport, 1997).
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply
All records deposited at Carmarthenshire Archives Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected