Abergele National School was built in 1869 to the design of G E Street, in the Gothic style and incorporates an octagonal stone bell-turret with spirelet and opened on the 24 May 1869. National schools are often known as 'Church Schools' and were affiliated with the local parish church.
On the day of opening twenty five boys and girls were admitted in the morning and a further sixteen in the afternoon, under the care of one mistress and one pupil teacher. On the 31st May 1869 12 more children were admitted and by 1896 there were 143 children on the books. It was originally designed as a mixed infant's school, but by 1904 had grown and was divided into infants, boys and girls, and by 1932 was so full that it was felt that a new Central School was needed.
The school finally closed in 1972, and was afterwards used as a community centre. It was listed Grade II on the 4th October 1973
Location of original school
Street name- Market Street, Abergele, Denbighshire
Post Code LL22 7BP
Grid Ref SH9437677584
The collection includes: log books; attendance registers; managers minutes; accounts; and plans.
Related Material held at Denbighshire Archives-
DD/DM/955/7 Magazine of Abergele Church of England schools (1926)
CD/A/4/180 Plan of New Junior School 1970.
CD/A/4/216 Plans 1970
John R Ellis, A History of Abergele and district (1948)
Ellis Wynne Williams, Abergele The story of a parish (1968)