Includes parish registers, registers of service, financial records etc including records relating to Ysgol Llangelynnin.
Llangelynnin Parish and Parochial Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CEP19
- Dates of Creation1733-2010
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description6 boxes and 1 outsize roll
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The "old" church at Llangelynnin dates from the twelfth century, the "new" church in from 1840. The parish of Llangelynnin had a Church in Wales controlled school, Ysgol Llangelynnin at the nearby village of Henryd. The "new" church was closed in the 1980s and the "old" church in 1990 but services are still held occasionally in the "old" church. Llangelynnin became part of a group parish with Caerhun and Llanbedr-y-Cennin in 1986.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Transferred from Gwynedd Archives Service, November 2008, with later additions from parish.