Associate congregation minutes, 1816-1835; Names of members, 1816-1834.
Records of Cupar Associate Congregation
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Cupar Original Associate Burgher Synod congregation branched from that of Kennoway in 1816. It was, however, only in 1819 that the first minister, Ebenezer Anderson, was ordained. In 1839, the congregation and the minister united with the Church of Scotland. After the Disruption, some members of the congregation turned to the Original Secession Church, and sought from the Presbytery of Perth and Dunfermline a supply of preachers, but at the end of 1844 it was decided that the congregation could no longer be sustained and it was therefore dissolved.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); D Scott, Annals and Statistics of the Original Secession Church (Edinburgh, 1886).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.