The collection includes titles, financial and legal papers, including those relating to estate improvements, the effects of the arrival of Edinburgh, Perth and Dundee Railway Company and Tay Bridge Railway, personal papers, plans and correspondence.
St Fort estate papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The estate of St Fort or Sandford/Sandfurd had been sub-divided, the Nairne family holding part of it from the middle of the fifteenth century until 1720. Thereafter it was sold to the Duncan family and then to Captain Robert Stewart who demolished the old house and built the present mansion. Other portions of the estate were in the possession of the Kinnairds and Hays of Naughton and Walker of St Fort families. The old barony was reunited in about 1800.
Access is restricted. Apply to the University Archivist for permission.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project Archivist.
Other Finding Aids
Handlist available at discretion of Archivist.
Deposited on indefinite loan in 1979.
This material is original.