Rhollanerchrugog British/Council school opened on 6 June 1865. Originally there was two seperate rooms for the boys and the girls which operated as seperate schools within the same building. The school waa built at a cost of £1,200 (ED/LB/92/3) and the school master was a Mr Joseph Owen of Shrewsbury and the schoolmistress was Miss Ffoulkes from Holywell.
By 28th Februrary 1896 a new experimental timetable was being introduced to ease overcrowding in the British /Council school which saw 45-50 pupils in classrooms built to house 30. In this same year plans were being drawn up of a proposed infant's school (ED/X/92/3).
In 1925 a new Council Junior school for girls was opened on the site of a previous infants school which stood across the road from the British/Council school. (ED/LB/92/6).
This collection includes log books and admission registers.
25"O.S.Map sheet 35-2, 6"O.S Map sheet 35NW
Related material held at Denbighshire Archives-
CD/A/4/172- Plan, pre 1904
CD/A/173-175, 188- Plan, 1926-1929 and n.d.
DD/DM/785/59 -Wrexham Leader Newspaper, 17th July 1975
Dennis W Gilpin, Rhosllanerchrugog a collection of pictures,1991