Comprising: copy conveyance 1890; minutes 1946-1952; other 1907-1981
DONCASTER, HYDE PARK METHODIST CHURCH RECORDS
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
This church on Carr House Road was built in 1891 and formed part of the Doncaster First Station until 1932. From 1950 it formed part of the South Circuit and later the West Circuit. The Hyde Park congregation was joined by the Oxford Place society in 1970 after the closure of the latter's church. The Hyde Park church in turn closed in 1975 and the site was sold to provide premises for the Scout Council. It was replaced by a new church a short distance away: Carr House Methodist Church, later Carr House Wesley Methodist Church, which opened on 21 June 1975. Certain records either begun at Hyde Park or brought from Oxford Place and continued at Hyde Park - in particular a register started at Hyde Park Sunday School and a collection journal and a weekly offering journal - were transferred to Carr House in 1975 and remained in use there. These items can be found among the records of Carr House Wesley, Doncaster Archives ref. NM 79.
If the Over 60s Club, whose records are described under reference NM29/14/1-2, was indeed a body connected with Hyde Park Methodist Church, it evidently underwent no change of name after the move to Carr House in 1975. St John's would presumably have been Balby St John the Evangelist - a neighbouring Anglican church, though by no means the nearest to Hyde Park.
Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries