Records of the Gwynfryn and Cendauddwr estate, 1822-1877, comprising rentals, 1828-[c. 1841]; accounts, 1822-1877; and a rough survey of lands, part of Boduchan Park, [n.d.].
Records of the Gwynfryn and Cefndauddwr estates
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XM/1761
- Dates of Creation1822-1877
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.01 cubic metres (1 box)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Richard Ellis of Gwynfryn, Llanystumdwy, Caernarfonshire, and vicar of Clynnog and Llanaenhaearn, (c. 1730-1805) married Catherine, daughter of Richard Nanney of Cefndeuddwr, Merioneth, in 1757. Their son, David Ellis Nanney (d. 1819), Attorney General for North Wales, left his estate to his nephew, Owen Jones (1790-1870) of Brynhir, Cricieth, Caernarfonshire, and of Cefndeuddwr, who assumed the additional name of Ellis-Nanney. Owen's eldest son and heir was Hugh John Ellis Nanney, who was created a baronet in 1897. According to the 1873 return of owners of land, Hugh John Ellis-Nanney of Gwynfryn, Caernarfonshire, owned an estimated 12,072 acres in Caernarfonshire, Merionethshire and Montgomeryshire with an estimated annual rental of £5,814.
Compiled by Mair James for the HMC/NLW Family and Estates project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Griffith, John Edwards, Pedigrees of Anglesey and Carnarvonshire Families, (Wrexham, 1998 reprint).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Caernarfon Record Office and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Caernarfon Record Office have been retained
Accruals are not expected