Parish records of Catton with Stamford Bridge

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1592-1978; register of marriages, 1592-1976; register of burials, 1592-1978 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1789-1812, ages only); register of banns, 1823-1904, 1919-1978; register of services, 1905-1973; register of confirmations, 1938-1978; register of communicants', 1872-1908; communicant numbers, 1953-1965; records concerning benefice income, including accounts, 1880, 1934-1956, statements of income, 1939, 1971, fee tables, 1902, 1937-1938, and correspondence, 1905, 1949-1970; charity records, including abstract of deed, 1700, and memoranda of money given to poor, 1617-1668; churchwardens records, including accounts, 1801-1905, briefs, 1653-1789, restoration papers, 1865-1866, fabric papers, 1878, 1906-1973, and churchyard extension plan, c.1927; records of incumbents, including visiting books, 1957-1961, files on parish affairs, 1947-1954, dilapidations, 1937-1973, parsonage house correspondence, 1954-1958, and statistical returns, 1893-1894, 1898-1899, 1966-1967; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including reading room committee minutes of meetings, 1948-1951, accounts of societies, 1949-1955, and correspondence, 1947-1953; school records, including correspondence, 1947-1953, reports, 1889-1903, and lease, 1903; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1920-1959, accounts, 1948-1976, enclosure award for manor and soke of Catton, 1766, and correspondence, 1950-1974.

Administrative / Biographical History

There has been a church at Catton from at least the twelfth century. In the thirteenth century the advowson was held by the Percy family, lords of the manor of Catton. It descended with the manor until the seventeenth century when it passed to the Duke of Somerset and then to the Earl of Egremont and finally to Lord Leconsfield, whose trustees held it in 1972.

The parish church of All Saints dates to the twelfth and thirteenth centuries; although it is possible it replaced a building of Saxon foundation. It was expanded in the fourteenth century and then restored in 1866 by George Edmund Street. In 2011 the roof and two stained glass windows were repaired and restored.

The parish historically included Low Catton (sometimes called Nether Catton), High Catton (sometimes called Upper Catton), Full Sutton, Kexby, Scoreby and Stamford Bridge. Chapels of ease existed at Full Sutton, Kexby and Stamford Bridge in the medieval period and a chapel, dedicated to St Leonard, was still in use in Stamford Bridge in the seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries. Full Sutton separated from Catton in the thirteenth century to form an independent parish. Kexby also became independent of Catton in 1853.

In 1868 a new chapel of ease, dedicated to St John the Baptist, was built at Stamford Bridge, and in 1957 it replaced All Saints as the principal church of the parish henceforth known as Stamford Bridge with Catton and Scoreby. Today the parish is part of the Stamford Bridge group of parishes, which also includes Scrayingham.

The parish is notable as the site of the 1066 Battle of Stamford Bridge.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1966 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1980 and 1981.

Note

There has been a church at Catton from at least the twelfth century. In the thirteenth century the advowson was held by the Percy family, lords of the manor of Catton. It descended with the manor until the seventeenth century when it passed to the Duke of Somerset and then to the Earl of Egremont and finally to Lord Leconsfield, whose trustees held it in 1972.

The parish church of All Saints dates to the twelfth and thirteenth centuries; although it is possible it replaced a building of Saxon foundation. It was expanded in the fourteenth century and then restored in 1866 by George Edmund Street. In 2011 the roof and two stained glass windows were repaired and restored.

The parish historically included Low Catton (sometimes called Nether Catton), High Catton (sometimes called Upper Catton), Full Sutton, Kexby, Scoreby and Stamford Bridge. Chapels of ease existed at Full Sutton, Kexby and Stamford Bridge in the medieval period and a chapel, dedicated to St Leonard, was still in use in Stamford Bridge in the seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries. Full Sutton separated from Catton in the thirteenth century to form an independent parish. Kexby also became independent of Catton in 1853.

In 1868 a new chapel of ease, dedicated to St John the Baptist, was built at Stamford Bridge, and in 1957 it replaced All Saints as the principal church of the parish henceforth known as Stamford Bridge with Catton and Scoreby. Today the parish is part of the Stamford Bridge group of parishes, which also includes Scrayingham.

The parish is notable as the site of the 1066 Battle of Stamford Bridge.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1981.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of Catton christenings, marriages, and burials, 1592-1885, and banns, 1823-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 662, 1761).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 01.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of Stamford Bridge are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193