Clydach School Records

Scope and Content

Records of Clydach School, 1867-1983, including log books, 1875-1983; admission registers, 1867-1975; attendance registers, 1918-1942; school returns, 1923-1951; regulations, 1932-1943; reports, 1957-1965; plans, c.1900; stock and inventory books, 1948-1978; circulars and correspondence, 1949-1972; miscellaneous records, 1921-1962.

Administrative / Biographical History

Clydach School was established as a British School in the 19th century. It was situated in Clydach, Glamorgan, and now part of Swansea. In 1937 the boys' school became a senior mixed school and the girls' school became a junior mixed school.


Arranged chronologically into: Log books; Admission registers; Attendance registers; Attendance half holiday registers; School returns; Regulations; Reports; Plans; Cards; Stock and inventory books; Circulars and correspondence; Miscellaneous papers.

Access Information

Items under 100 years old containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act 1998.

Acquisition Information

It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.


Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Education, Primary Schools, catalogue.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

No information available.


Accruals are possible.

Geographical Names