The Muggeridge Collections are a unique collection of mill photographs dating from the early part of the 20th century onwards. They are particularly rich in black & white photographs of windmills and watermills, and other aspects of rural life, from a time just prior to the enormous changes which took place in agriculture and its associated technology during the latter part of the century.
Muggeridge Collections of Mill Photographs
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1089 UKC/MILL/MUG
- Dates of Creationc1902-1982
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionOver 5000 images
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Muggeridge Collection was assembled by William and Donald Muggeridge, father and son.
William Burrell Muggeridge's collection of photographs of English windmills from 1902 was originally given to Special Collections on glass plates. Prints have been made of all of these, as well as of the photographs taken by William Muggeridge's son, Donald, thanks to grants from the University of Kent's Development and Alumni Annual Fund.
The Muggeridge Collections comprise:
- UKC/MILL/MUG/WBMUG : the William B. Muggeridge Collection
- UKC/MILL/MUG/DMUG : the Donald Muggeridge Collection
Contact email@example.com to make an appointment for viewing. You will need to give a list of photographs you would like to see. Please be aware that we need at least half a day's notice of a visit.
Other Finding Aids
Item level catalogue with images available on the Special Collections website
The VERDI project, funded by JISC, has made it possible to catalogue and scan Donald Muggeridge's colour slides of mills all over Europe and some from the United States. The cataloguing has been carried out on an archival database, MODES for Windows (MfW); the collections can now be searched online.
Conditions Governing Use
Donald Muggeridge initially deposited his father's collection of glass plate negatives with the National Monuments Record (now RCHME), but since they had not been made available to the public after 11 years, he moved the collection to the Templeman Library. Donald then gradually transferred his own negatives to the Templeman Library.
No further accruals expected