CMA: Records of Zion Presbyterian Church, Penyffordd (Hope)

Scope and Content

The fonds contains the records of Zion Presbyterian Church, Penyffordd (Hope), 1896-1994, including account books; church minute books; members' contribution books; Womens Circle minute books; a church register; and a treasurer's weekly receipt book.

Administrative / Biographical History

Around 1842, Thomas Evans of Hope rented a barn for the purpose of preaching the Gospel and founding a Sabboth School. Although the congregation consisted of only seven members to start with, the membership soon grew rapidly and due to the increasing size of the congregation, a larger site was required. In 1862, with the help of members and generous donations, a chapel vestry and stables were built at Vaunog Hill.
Few changes were made for half a century, until the early 1920s when many improvements and renovation work took place. In 1934, a church hall was opened, and in 1940 it was commandeered for the temporary accommodation of evacuees from Liverpool.
From about 1956 onwards the Church saw a steady decline in membership although it was still active into the 1990s. In 1994 the Church Elders decided to unite with the two other churches in Pen-y-ffordd in a venture to form the Trinity Chapel. The congregations joined together in a special service on 9 October 1994. It was decided that the new Trinity Chapel should be based at the buildings of Pen-y-ffordd Methodist Church.

Arrangement

Arranged at NLW into four series: account books; Church minute books; members' contribution books; and Womens Circle minute books; and two files.

Access Information

Readers consulting modern papers in the National Library of Wales are required to sign the 'Modern papers - data protection' form.

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Mrs Gwawr Booth, Wrexham, December 2002.; 0200301272

Note

Around 1842, Thomas Evans of Hope rented a barn for the purpose of preaching the Gospel and founding a Sabboth School. Although the congregation consisted of only seven members to start with, the membership soon grew rapidly and due to the increasing size of the congregation, a larger site was required. In 1862, with the help of members and generous donations, a chapel vestry and stables were built at Vaunog Hill.
Few changes were made for half a century, until the early 1920s when many improvements and renovation work took place. In 1934, a church hall was opened, and in 1940 it was commandeered for the temporary accommodation of evacuees from Liverpool.
From about 1956 onwards the Church saw a steady decline in membership although it was still active into the 1990s. In 1994 the Church Elders decided to unite with the two other churches in Pen-y-ffordd in a venture to form the Trinity Chapel. The congregations joined together in a special service on 9 October 1994. It was decided that the new Trinity Chapel should be based at the buildings of Pen-y-ffordd Methodist Church.

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of this list is available in CMA: Records of Welsh Chapels in NLW 2001-.

Archivist's Note

May 2003

Compiled by Owain Schiavone.

The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Then and Now, A History of Penyffordd and Penmynydd (1992); and NLW, CMA: Records of Zion Presbyterian Church, Penyffordd (Hope).

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright laws apply.

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Marriage registers, 1937-1969, 1969-1970, and 1972-1975, of Zion Presbyterian Church, Penyffordd (Holt) are in NLW, CMA/O22/1-3.

Additional Information

Published