Parish records of York, Holy Trinity, Heworth

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1869-1970; register of marriages, 1870-1983; register of burials, 1949-1967; register of banns, 1870-1987; register of services, 1877-1974; records concerning benefice income, including correspondence regarding benefaction, 1870; churchwardens’ records, including correspondence regarding sale of churchyard land, 1898; school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1892-1932, and specification for building wall, 1872; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1870-1944, and accounts 1919-1960.

Administrative / Biographical History

The church of Holy Trinity, Heworth was consecrated in 1869, and 1870 separated from the parish of York, St Saviour in 1870 to form the modern parish of York, Holy Trinity Heworth.
In 1936 parts of Huntington, Osbaldwick and York, St Cuthbert were added to the parish., and a mission chapel in the western part of the parish was dedicated to St Wulfstan in 1941. The parish also included Christ Church on Stockton Lane from 1964 until 1998 when it separated to form an independent parish.
The church is built in the Early English style by architect George Fowler Jones and contains a large wooden reredos made in the Bavarian town of Oberammergau.

Access Information

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited in 1969 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1982 and 1992.

Note

The church of Holy Trinity, Heworth was consecrated in 1869, and 1870 separated from the parish of York, St Saviour in 1870 to form the modern parish of York, Holy Trinity Heworth.
In 1936 parts of Huntington, Osbaldwick and York, St Cuthbert were added to the parish., and a mission chapel in the western part of the parish was dedicated to St Wulfstan in 1941. The parish also included Christ Church on Stockton Lane from 1964 until 1998 when it separated to form an independent parish.
The church is built in the Early English style by architect George Fowler Jones and contains a large wooden reredos made in the Bavarian town of Oberammergau.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1992.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1869-1954, marriages, 1870-1966, and burials, 1949-1967, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 826-827).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 19.11.15.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute, see the parish records of York, St Denys and St George which include a map showing alterations of the areas of the parishes of All Saints and St Crux with St Saviour and St Sampson with Holy Trinity, King's Court; St Michael le Belfrey and Holy Trinity, Goodramgate; St Cuthbert; Holy Trinity, Heworth; and St Denys, 1975.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193