- Ledgers 1829-1832
- Journals 1893-1898
- Account books 1912-1943
- Accounts rendered books 1919-1923
- Cash books 1839-1844
- Report books 1897-1900
- Letterbooks 1826-1920
- Register of clients 1932
- Business notes index 1852-1860
- Client files 1736-1973
- Printed volumes concerning Glasgow public accounts and mining 1818-1925
- Library catalogue [undated]
- Company history files c1964
- Pamphlets and photographs 1891-1977
Records of Mann Judd Gordon & Co, chartered accountants, Glasgow, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Henry Paul began practicing accountancy in Glasgow, Scotland, at some point between 1815 and 1819 . From 1829 he was in partnership with Robert Aitken trading as Paul & Aitken , accountants. In 1832 , Andrew Harvie also became a partner and continued to run the firm following the departure of Henry Paul in 1839 , who left to found the City of Glasgow Bank and was its first manager. From 1832 , the firm traded as Andrew Harvie with Robert Aitken joining the partnership in 1839 . Andrew Harvie died in 1849 and was replaced by his son, George Harvie, who then ran the firm until his own death a year later.
At this time John Mann, snr , formerly the managing clerk, inherited the business and in 1886 he took into partnership his son, John Mann, jnr, and Alexander Thomson and the firm became known as John Mann & Son . The firm also acted as agents for the Caledonian Insurance Co and John Mann, jnr, was also the secretary of the Glasgow Workmen's Dwellings Co Ltd and a partner in Mann, Wright & Co , accountants, London, England, between 1890 and 1902 .
In 1906, Harold Godfrey Judd joined as a partner, as did James A Gordon in 1919 and from this time the firm was known as Mann Judd Gordon & Co . The firm continued to trade as chartered accountants until the early 1970s but appear to have been defunct by the 1980s .
Initially the business operated from Leitch's Court, Trongate, Glasgow , but by 1823 it had moved to 44 Wilson Street, Glasgow . Between 1825 and 1832 it operated from 52 Miller Street, Glasgow , from 1832 to 1865 at 153 Queen Street, Glasgow , from 1865 to 1880 at 83 West Regent Street, Glasgow , from 1880 to 1886 at 154 St Vincent Street, Glasgow , from 1886 to 1898 at 188 St Vincent Street, Glasgow and from 1898-1902 its offices were at 137 West George Street, Glasgow . Finally, in 1902, the firm moved to 142 St Vincent Street, Glasgow where it remained until at least 1967 . In 1919, the firm opened a branch office at 8 Frederick's Place, Old Jewry, London, England and branch offices also operated for a time in England at Newcastle-upon-Tyne , Manchester and Liverpool . In 1937 a separate partnership was established to operate the London office and in 1945 this partnership was styled Mann, Judd & Co . This London practice later amalgamated with Touche Ross & Co.
Interim Account of a Going Concern: Some Essays on the History of the Firm of Mann Judd Gordon & Company, Chartered Accountants Glasgow, circa 1817 to 1967, on the Occasion of the 150th Anniversary of its Foundation(1967, Glasgow)
Habgood, Wendy (ed), Chartered Accountants in England and Wales: A Guide to Historical Records ( 1994 , Manchester )
This material is arranged into series, which consist of numbers of items related by format and/or function. Within series, the items are generally arranged chronologically
Conditions Governing Access
Deposit : Moores & Rowland : Glasgow : 1989 : ACCN103*
Other Finding Aids
Digital file level list available in searchroom
Manual file level list available at the National Registers of Archives in Edinburgh (NRA(S)3316) and London (NRA23733)
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 248 procedures
No known publications using this material
This material is original
Revised by David Powell, Hub Project Archivist, 4 November 2002; Amended by Sam Maddra, Assistant Archivist (cataloguing), 24 August 2016.