A manuscript compilation of Ely Cathedral statutes of 1666, 146 pages, preceded by an index. The rest of the volume is unused. Apart from the index, the text is on the rectos only, although the versos are also numbered.
Ely Cathedral: Statutes
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 12 MS.Add.7986
- Dates of CreationLate 17th century
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The origins of Ely Cathedral date back to the seventh century, when a monastery was founded on the site by St Etheldreda. The monastery was destroyed by the Danes in the ninth century, but was refounded as a Benedictine abbey in 970. Abbot Simeon oversaw rebuilding work in 1083, following which Ely became a cathedral in 1109. The monastery was dissolved in 1539, but the cathedral was refounded, with a dean and chapter, in 1541.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.
Purchased from Phillips Son & Neale, auctioneers, 4 February 1975.
Other Finding Aids
Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.