Parish records of Wighill

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1717-1992 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1793-1812); register of marriages, 1717-1979; register of burials, 1717-1992 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1783-1812, ages only 1783-1793); register of banns, 1826-1946; register of services, 1866-1908, 1936-1984; records concerning benefice income, including glebe papers, 1910-1915; charity correspondence, 1928-1929; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1874-1903, 1908-40, restoration papers, 1911-1913, and fabric papers, 1873-1921; records of incumbents, including statistical returns, 1893-1895, 1910-1915, letter about union with Healaugh, 1927, and benefice papers, 1927; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including Wighill Fidelity Funeral and Brief Club accounts, 1856-1905; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1921-1979.

Administrative / Biographical History

The present parish church of Wighill dates to the twelfth century. It was given to Healaugh Priory before 1228, and a vicarage subsequently ordained there. The living was augmented in 1764. In 1927 the benefice was united with that of Healaugh.

The church was restored in 1912-1913 by W. H. Brierley. Historically, the parish included East Follifoot and Wighill Park.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1976 by the Diocesan Registry. Further additions were made to the archive in 1978, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1988 and 1992.

Note

The present parish church of Wighill dates to the twelfth century. It was given to Healaugh Priory before 1228, and a vicarage subsequently ordained there. The living was augmented in 1764. In 1927 the benefice was united with that of Healaugh.

The church was restored in 1912-1913 by W. H. Brierley. Historically, the parish included East Follifoot and Wighill Park.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1992.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records, including registers of christenings, 1717-1885, marriages, 1717-1885, burials, 1717-1992, and banns, 1826-1900, churchwardens' accounts, 1843-1897, marriage licenses, 1803-1900, church rate book, 1865-1869, accounts, 1692-1809, list of pews, 1789, papers concerning parish lands, 1796-1820, and index of papers, 1714-1798, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 815, 1581, 1763, 1778).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 21.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Papers concerning repairs and alterations to Wighill Church, 1830-1854, can be found in the York Family Papers.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193