Material relating to partnership and company affairs 1825-1944; material relating to new production processes 1844-1870; White Rock Estate 1736-1947; Bennett's coal lands, Landore 1853-c1940; Caemoch-law-yr-heol, Landore deeds 1810-c1840; Cathelydgenol, Cathelyducha and Tyllwydin, Llangyfelach deeds 1861-1888; Pantylanse, Tyr y Cawsey and Tyr Bach, Llangyfelach deeds and related papers 1807-1927; Tyr-Ostry, Llangyfelach 1831-c1940; building land in Llansamlet 1846-1858; Llwynherein, Llansamlet 1767-1810;Tyr y Gwle, Llansamlet 1768-1807; Llangyfelach and Llansamlet mineral properties 1736-1926; Canal Wharf and Railway Arches, Swansea 1883-1884; miscellaneous properties in Glamorgan and Brecon 1748-1875; miscellaneous estate paper and plans c1820-1914; properties in London, Surrey and Somerset 1848-1870.
White Rock Works Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 217 LAC/122
- Dates of Creation1736-1947
- Physical Description17 boxes and 1 bundle
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The White Rock Copper Works were established in the Lower Swansea Valley in 1737 by John Hoblyn. The works were operated by Thomas Coster and Company. The company was renamed c1739 as Joseph Percivall and Copper Company and they operated the works until 1764 at which date the company was re-formed as John Freeman and Copper Company. From c1870 the works worked lead and silver and were operated by Williams, Foster and Company and Vivian and Sons until 1874, Vivian and Sons from c1874 until 1924, and British Copper Manufacturers' Limited 1924-1928.
Accessible to all researchers by appointment. Please note that some collections contain sensitive information and access may be restricted.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply