Pitt, Croome, Bowley & Brown Records

Scope and Content

Records of Pitt, Croome, Bowley & Brown relating to the operation of the bank, including customers’ incidental papers and bankers’ license to issue banknotes.

Administrative / Biographical History

This private bank was established in 1790 in Cirencester. By 1826 it had four branches: Tedbury, Faringdon, Cheltenham, and Burford. It merged with the Gloucester County & City Bank in 1836 to form the County of Gloucester Bank.

Access Information

Access is by appointment only, and at the discretion of the Archivist. Please e-mail archives@lloydsbanking.com for further information.

Other Finding Aids

Item level catalogue available - please e-mail archives@lloydsbanking.com for further details.

Geographical Names