Matthew Dawson Duffield: Descriptions of Cambridge Churches

Scope and Content

MS.Add.4157: A description of St Michael's Church, Cambridge, 1814, 64 folios. According to Samuel Sandars the description is 'by M. D. Duffield of Carlton, near Middleham, Yorks'. There are occasional instructions for the printer in pencil.

MS.Add.4158: A description of Holy Trinity Church, Cambridge, intended for publication in the Gentleman's magazine, c. 1814, 58 folios. The description is in the same hand as MS.Add.4157, and, according to Samuel Sandars, is 'by M. D. Duffield, Carlton, Middleham, Yorks 1814'.

Administrative / Biographical History

Matthew Dawson Duffield (d. 1866) was born at Theakston, Yorkshire, and went to school at Richmond. He was admitted a pensioner at Caius College, Cambridge, in 1810, and a sizar at St John's College in 1818. He was ordained deacon in 1817, and priest in 1818. Duffield was Curate of Tottington, Norfolk, 1817; Curate of Tottington with Merton, 1821; Perpetual Curate of Berechurch and of Layer-de-la-Hay, Essex, 1835-1842; and Vicar of Stebbing, 1842-1866. He became Canon of Middleham in 1843. He was Chaplain to the Duke of Cambridge, and a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries. He died in July 1866.

Access Information

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Bequeathed by Samuel Sandars, 1894.


Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives. The biographical history was compiled with reference to the entry on Duffield in J.A. Venn, Alumni Cantabrigienses, Part II, Vol. II (Cambridge University Press, 1944), p. 349.

Other Finding Aids

Additional Manuscripts Catalogue.


MS.Add.4157 is printed in the Gentleman's magazine, 84 (1814), pp. 321-325 and 433-439.