‘Cowbridge Town. The book of Oaths’

Scope and Content

(Containing: oaths of a burgess, allegiance, a capital burgess, an alderman, the ‘Bayliffs’, justices, the mayor, the recorder or town clerk, an attorney, the common attorneys, the constables, sergeants at mace, clerk of the market, the ale tasters, overseer of the shambles, crosskeeper and beadle, searchers of leather, the grand jury, a court of general sessions, a court of common council, a court of our sovereign lord the king (court of peas), an adjournment of all the courts, a certificate to receive the sacrament, and a freedomship.