Manuscript abridgment of the Bible, entitled 'Explication abrégée de tous les livres et chapitres de la sainte bible avec des nottes sur quelques antilogies et idiotismes d'icelle', and based on the works of late 17th and early 18th century French theologians such as Richard Simon, Isaac-Louis Le Maistre de Sacy, Nicolas Le Tourneaux, and Adrien Baillet. The abridgment was made by the compiler for his son, probably in Lyons, France. The monograms JUAT and AB:RF appear frequently throughout the manuscript.
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 535
- Dates of Creation[1700-1725]
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialFrench
- Physical Description1 volume containing 232 leaves
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Richard Simon (1638-1712) was a Professor of Philosophy and a Hebrew scholar, who wrote commentaries on the language of the Bible. Isaac-Louis (Le Maistre) de Sacy (1613-1684) was a scripture translator and commentator, and director of the Port Royal Monastery. He was imprisoned for three years in the Bastille for his Jansenist opinions, and translated the Bible during his captivity (1666-1670). Nicolas le Tourneux (1640-1686) was Prior of Villiers sur Fere, and a respected theologian. Adrien Baillet (1649-1706) was a theologian and the librarian to Francois-Chrétien de Lamoignon.
Conditions Governing Access
Access to the items in the collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the controlled environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Access to archive collections may be restricted under the Freedom of Information Act. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Given by the New College, Hampstead, 1960.
Other Finding Aids
Collection level description.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
10¼" x 7¼"
Compiled by Sarah Aitchison as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.