Society records of the Methodist Church, York, Victoria Bar Primitive Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Register of baptisms, 1908-1936; register of marriages, 1920-1939, and related papers, 1880-1978; records of Trustees, including treasurer's account book, 1914-1940, promissory notes, 1919, 1924, and letter concerning choice and appointment of Trustees, 1914; property records, including deeds relating to land on which chapel was built, 1873-1890, abstract of title of Milburn Close and Benson's Close, 1885, abstract of title to two closes, 1899, copy of the lease of the Mission House on Nunnery Lane, 1864, and application to sell the minister's house in St Paul's Square, 1915; copy of the will of Mary Ward, 1808.

Administrative / Biographical History

York, Victoria Bar Primitive Methodist Chapel opened in 1880 as a replacement for the Nunnery Lane Mission Room, which subsequently became a Sunday School and meeting hall. It was built on the corner of Victor Street and Newton Terrace, inside the recently made Victoria Bar, and was designed by architect William Peachey. The building could accommodate 900 people and included lecture rooms and classrooms, as well as a chapel room and minister's vestry.

Initially part of the York Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, in 1883 the Circuit was divided into two and Victoria Bar Chapel became head of the newly created Second York Circuit, known as the Victoria Bar Circuit.

The chapel remained in use until the 1930s. It was closed following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932 and sold in 1940. The building was later converted to flats.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in the 1980s.

Note

York, Victoria Bar Primitive Methodist Chapel opened in 1880 as a replacement for the Nunnery Lane Mission Room, which subsequently became a Sunday School and meeting hall. It was built on the corner of Victor Street and Newton Terrace, inside the recently made Victoria Bar, and was designed by architect William Peachey. The building could accommodate 900 people and included lecture rooms and classrooms, as well as a chapel room and minister's vestry.

Initially part of the York Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, in 1883 the Circuit was divided into two and Victoria Bar Chapel became head of the newly created Second York Circuit, known as the Victoria Bar Circuit.

The chapel remained in use until the 1930s. It was closed following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932 and sold in 1940. The building was later converted to flats.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 15.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit and York Victoria Bar Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion are deposited at the Borthwick Institute as part of: Records of the Methodist Church, York (Monkgate) Circuit, and Records of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, York Victoria Bar Circuit. The Borthwick also holds the records of the Nunnery Lane Mission.

Additional Information

Published

GB193