Ebenezer Welsh Baptist Church, Aberavon, records, 1861-2002, including church histories, 1883-1936; deeds, 1861-2002; Deacon's minutes, 1967-1988; dismission forms, 1962-1994.
Ebenezer Welsh Baptist Church, Aberavon, Records
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Baptist cause began in Aberavon, Glamorgan, now Neath Port Talbot, in 1651 as a local branch of the congregation that met in Ilston. The congregation occupied several chapels until Ebenezer was purchased from the Calvinistic Methodists in 1839. The present chapel was built on the site in 1881.
Arranged into the following: Church histories; Deeds and documents; Deacon's minutes; Dismission forms.
Conditions Governing Access
Deacon's minutes closed for 50 years after date of creation. Otherwise no restrictions.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Nonconformist, Welsh Baptist, Ebenezer Welsh Baptist Chapel, Aberavon, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are possible