This collection covers a wide range of material accumulated in the course of administering the legal practice of Porter & Co. It consists of deeds, wills, maps, plans, court records and other miscellaneous items relating to business and private clients. This includes a range of material concerning work undertaken by the company relating to local quarrying firms.
Porter & Co papers
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS POR
- Dates of Creation1804-1956
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description183 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Porter & Co, solicitors, was established, circa 1850, at Castle Street, Conwy, Caernarfonshire. It provided legal services for business and private clients, including residential conveyancing, probate and wills, litigation. The company continued to trade in Conwy as Porter & Co until the late 1990's when it was incorporated into the larger Gamlins group. At various times in its history the company also traded under the names William Jones & Porter, as well as Porter & Amphlett.
Material has been arranged according to type and then chronologically. It has been incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts.
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Papers presented in the 1980's by Mr Phil Duncalf of Llandudno who bought the original building used by Porter & Co at Castle Street, Conwy.
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, July 2001
Other Finding Aids
Item level word processed list is available at the Department of Manuscripts at the University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 25421-25603
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.