The collection contains detailed records of the club meets dating from the inception of the club in 1927, and has a particularly rich collection of photographs and lantern slide of meets and landscapes, largely dating from the 1930s to 1950s:constitution and rules c.1927-1983; AGM and other reports 1928-1994; annual statements of accounts 1963, 1985; cash books 1927-1958; Treasurer's correspondence 1967-1995; Secretary's correspondence and papers 1936-1999; Meet Secretary's records (including meet lists and reports) 1927-1988; Librarian's records (including catalogues) 1930-1998; Editor's records 1937-1960; Hut Custodian's and hut records 1961-1993; newsletters and publications 1927-1999; photographs 1927-1997; glass lantern slides c.1930s-1950s; newscutting books 1927-1999; memorabilia 1929-1999; climbing record of Mr F G Young 1895-1958; miscellaneous talks, club songs, stationery etc. c1946-1995.
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Grampian Club organises hill walks and more strenuous mountaineering activities, including rock climbing and skiing, within the local area, and abroad. A programme of 'indoor meets' includes lectures and slide shows and the club publishes The Grampian Club Bulletin. Members of the club are also involved in Tayside Mountain Rescue and other local and national organisations, as well as taking an interest in issues relating to the environment and access to the Scottish countryside.
The Club was formed in 1927 when twelve members attended the first meet in Glen Clova, climbing a snow gully on Mayar. Membership has steadily increased so that today the club has over 200 members. In 1961 the Club acquired a climbing hut in Glen Etive and in 1984 a cottage in Torridon for use by its members.
The club is managed by up to eight office-bearers and five Ordinary Members. The office-bearers consist of an Honorary President, President, Vice-President, Honorary Secretary, Honorary Treasurer, Honorary Meet Secretary, Honorary Librarian (in conjunction with another post), Honorary Editor, and Hut Custodian.
Records are arranged chronologically within series.
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
The records were deposited by the Club with the club library and map collection in 1999 and 2000 (AccM/397, AccM/407).
Collection catalogued and fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, January 2002.
Other Finding Aids
A draft descriptive list is available. The glass lantern slides are currently uncatalogued, although a manuscript register of slides exists.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.
The material is original.