Scope and Content

Records of the Colwyn Borough Council, which operated between 1974 and 1996.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Borough of Colwyn was one of six districts of the county of Clwyd, north-east Wales, from 1974 to 1996. It was formed under the Local Government Act 1972 from the following parts of the administrative county of Denbighshire: The municipal borough of Colwyn Bay; The urban district of Abergele; Parts of the rural districts of Aled and Hiraethog.

The borough was abolished in 1996, when Wales was divided into unitary authorities created by the Local Government (Wales) Act 1994. The area of Colwyn was split: a large part going to Aberconwy and Colwyn county borough, (soon renamed as Conwy), and the remainder going to Denbighshire unitary authority.


Arranged into the following: Chief Executive / Administration

Access Information

Data Protection Act restrictions will apply to any items less than 100 years old that contain personal information as defined by the Act.


Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Flintshire Record Office. Catalogue is searchable online at:

Conditions Governing Use

Usual Copyright Restrictions Apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained.

Custodial History

Transferred directly from the District Councils or from Flintshire County Council (post-1996), the succesor body.