Scope and Content

Records of the Alyn and Deeside District Council, which operated between 1974 and 1996; also of the Buckley Town Council, the Dee Land Company and the Wepre Hall Estate.

Administrative / Biographical History

Alyn and Deeside (Welsh: Alun a Glannau Dyfrdwy) was one of six districts of the county of Clwyd, north-east Wales from 1974 to 1996. There is still a parliamentary constituency of the same name.

The district was formed under the Local Government Act 1972, on 1 April 1974, from part of the administrative county of Flintshire, namely the urban districts of Buckley and Connah's Quay, and the rural district of Hawarden (less the parish of Marford and Hoseley).

The district's original name was Alyn-Dee, but it was changed on 19 October 1973 by agreement between the "shadow" council elected earlier in the year and the Secretary of State for Wales.

The district was abolished on 1 April 1996, and its area included in the larger unitary authority of Flintshire.


Arranged into the following: Chief Executive / Administration; Treasurers / Finance; Development / Technical Services; Health and Housing; Leisure Services; Buckley Town Council; Land and Property; Miscellaneous; Dee Land Company; Wepre Hall Estate.

Access Information

Data Protection Act restrictions will apply to any items less than 100 years old that contain personal information as defined by the Act.


Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Flintshire Record Office. Catalogue is searchable online at:

Conditions Governing Use

Usual Copyright Restrictions Apply. Copyright Flintshire County Council, so copying will usually be possible.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained.

Custodial History

Transferred directly from the District Councils or from Flintshire County Council (post-1996), the succesor body.

Related Material

BC - Reports and proposals for Alyn and Deeside by Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales, 1977-1989.