Scope and Content

Alyn and Deeside District Council Records, 1747-1996 (including Wepre Hall Estate, 1797-1943, Buckley Town Council, 1989, and Dee Land Company, 1873-1941); Colwyn Borough Council Records; Delyn District Council Records, 1973-1996; and Rhuddlan Borough Council Records, 1974-1992.

Administrative / Biographical History

In 1974, Wales was re-divided for local government purposes into thirty-seven districts. Districts were the second tier of local government introduced by the Local Government Act 1972, being subdivisions of the eight counties introduced at the same time. This system of two-tier local government was abolished in 1996 and replaced with the current system of unitary principal areas.

Each district was administered by an elected district council. The council was entitled to petition for a charter granting borough status, whereupon the district became a borough and the district council a borough council headed by a mayor. In addition, a district could be granted Letters Patent granting city status.


Arranged into the following: Alyn and Deeside District Council (including Wepre Hall Estate, Buckley Town Council and Dee Land Company); Colwyn Borough Council; Delyn District Council; Rhuddlan Borough Council.

Access Information

Data Protection Act restrictions will apply to any items less than 100 years old that contain personal information as defined by the Act.


Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Flintshire Record Office. Catalogue is searchable online at: http://calmview.flintshire.gov.uk/CalmView/

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Steven Davies of Flintshire Record Office. The following source was used to compile this description: Flintshire Record Office, District Authorities Catalogue.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual Copyright Restrictions Apply. Copyright Flintshire County Council, so copying will usually be possible.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained.

Custodial History

Transferred directly from the District Councils or from Flintshire County Council (post-1996), the successor body.


Further accruals are possible.