St Mary's Parochial Schools Trustees Collection

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Records of the trustees of St Mary's Parochial Schools (later St Mary's Primary School), Twickenham, mostly relating to finances and the management of properties. The collection also includes some class attendance registers for 1972-1995.

Administrative / Biographical History

St Mary's Church had funded schools in Twickenham since at least the 1640s. In 1809 all the parish-run schools were replaced by a new establishment under the management of the St Mary's Parochial Schools charity, which opted to run the new school according to the National Schools system. The school was funded by a combination of the Church, donations and subscriptions from the public, and government grant. In 1861, after the lease for the new school had expired, a parcel of land in Arragon Road was purchased by the Parochial Schools trustees, upon which new school buildings were constructed. The three new schools (for infants, boys, and girls) opened on 31 December 1862. By 1972 the schools had merged into one school, St Mary's Church of England Primary School, run by the London Borough of Richmond upon Thames. Since 2003, the school has maintained three sites at Amyand Park Road (infants), Strafford Road (middle), and Richmond Road (juniors).

Arrangement

The St Mary's Parochial Schools Trustees collection is arranged into 11 series records:

  • S4/1 Minutes and general files, 1885-1989
  • S4/2 Property and land records, 1861-1989
  • S4/3 Property and land records for Southfield Gardens, 1862-1979
  • S4/4 Papers relating to Sydney Lodge lease, 1885-1914
  • S4/5 Financial and accounting records, 1816-1979
  • S4/6 Insurance documents, 1933-1960
  • S4/7 Reorganisation and redevelopment, 1912-1960
  • S4/8 Appointment of trustees and staff, 1893-1980
  • S4/9 Subscribers and supporters records c1865-c1951
  • S4/10 School Connecting Fund, 1931
  • S4/11 Class attendance registers, 1971-1995

Conditions Governing Access

Some records within this collection are open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive. No appointment is necessary to view archival material.

The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Please note that some records within this collection are closed and not currently available for research. For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Other Finding Aids

A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html