Barford St John is situated 20 miles north of Oxford. It was a chapelry of Adderbury until 1890 when it united with Barford St Michael. For other parish records see the Adderbury or Barford St Michael records.
The records were originally deposited in the Bodleian Library by Mr J Taylor, churchwarden in 1980, Barford St John and Barford St Michael Parochial Church Council 1980 and by the Rev SR Bolton in 1981. The material was then transferred to the Oxfordshire Record Office.
A conspectus of new and old references is included at the end of this catalogue. Catalogued by Alison Smith, October 2006.