Dining Room of the Officers Mess, Corps and Guides, North India

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Taken after the Proclomation Parade on 01 January 1938. The building was erected in 1886 and still stands today. The fireplace was constructed from stone tablets depicting the life of Buddha, which were discovered during excavations of the Lowe Swat River Canal.

Conditions Governing Access

Open

Acquisition Information

Donated to SOAS Library in January 2008

Related Material

Photograph Album, P. 6 which includes exterior shots of the mess building as a background to official Corps and Guides photographs, 1896 - 1902.