Park Hill Chapel Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The records consist of 2 chapel registers, 1881-1954; numerous account books ranging in date from 1886 - 1977 which include pew rent books, 1893-1977 and Sunday school accounts, ca. 1880-1947; minute books, 1881-1951.

Also miscellaneous papers such as a plans, sections and block plan of the site, annual report for 1967, agenda for a district meeting, 1909, an essay on the history of the cause by R. W. Hughes, a file of papers relating to a Miss Catherine Hughes and a house called Tor View in Penchwintan Road, Bangor in which Parkhill Chapel had an estate in remainder, 1942-1943.

Administrative / Biographical History

Park Hill Calvinist Methodist Chapel was situated in Lonpopty Road in Bangor, Caernarfonshire.

The original Lonpopty Chapel, built in 1804, was the first Calvinist Methodist chapel in Bangor. Within about 15 years, the chapel was deemed too small for the congregation and the members moved to the Tabernacl Chapel to worship.

By 1883 a new chapel had been built and was opened in August. The church flourished and its membership grew in number and in 1903 it was decided that another, larger chapel should be built which could hold 600 people.

The records testify that the chapel was still open in 1977. However, by today, the chapel building has been converted into flats.

Arrangement

Arranged chronologically and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users.

Acquisition Information

Items 32912-32954 donated by the officers of Parkhill Chapel, September 1984. Item 25397 deposited by Rev. Richard Roberts.

Note

Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, June 2002.

Other Finding Aids

An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 25397, 31303, 32912-32954

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.