Parish records of Terrington

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1599-2005; register of christenings at Castle Howard, 1741-1768; register of marriages, 1599-2000; register of burials, 1599-1979; register of banns, 1823-1941; register of services, 1876-1979; register of confirmations, 1941-1980; records concerning benefice income, including glebe maps, 1865-1910, glebe exchange, 1891, glebe papers, 1890, 1910, benefice investments, 1910-1952, and tithe papers, 1822-1946; charity records, including minutes of meetings, 1921-1957, accounts, 1801-1907, deeds, 1652-1770, papers, 1921, and Terrington Charities minute book, 1905-1984; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1795-1921, restoration and fabric fund accounts, 1869-1924, fabric papers, 1876, 1920-1933, briefs, 1698-1728, and churchyard papers, 1881-c.1983; constables’ accounts, 1798-1809; records of incumbents, including antiquarian notes, 1850s-1890s, photographs of villagers, 1933, rectory papers, 1869, 1908, albums of photographs of Terrington people taken by Reverend Canon J S Wimbush (rector 1908-1933), 1933, with additional notes, 1983; overseers’ records, including settlement certificates, 1701-1813, settlement examinations, 1762-1838, removal orders, 1718-1834, maintenance bonds, 1694-1810, papers, 1720, 1823, bastardy orders, 1774-1833, and poor law papers, 1716-1831; school records, including Terrington Church of England School minute book, 1903-1982; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1889-1902, 1920-1971, Enclosure Commissioners' oaths, 1772, copy award, 1779, Wiganthorpe estate sale catalogue, 1886, and antiquarian notes on the Lascelles family, c.1890s.

Administrative / Biographical History

The present parish church of Terrington dates to at least the eleventh century and may be Saxon in origin. The advowson was held in part by Anketin Mallory, lord of the manor of Wiganthorpe, and his wife Sarah in 1246, when it was quitclaimed to them by the Archbishop of York.
By the fourteenth century the manor was held by the Stapletons, with the advowson of the church divided between them and the Salvin family. The Stapletons were succeeded in the lordship by the Methams, who acquired the Salvin portion and subsequently sold the whole advowson to John Micklethwaite in 1654.
The nave of the church was largely rebuilt in the twelfth century and the whole building was expanded in the fourteenth. The tower is believed to have been added in the fifteenth century. The church was restored in 1870 by architect Ewan Christian at the instigation of then rector, Samuel Wimbush. A large rectory house was built in 1827 and then replaced in 1868.
The parish includes Ganthorpe, Mowthorpe and Wiganthorpe. A chapel of ease, dedicated to St Mary Magdalene, was recorded at Ganthorpe in the first half of the sixteenth century, although this was leased to Francis Metham in 1560 and was not mentioned thereafter.
Today the parish is part of the Howardian Group benefice, which also includes Bulmer, Dalby, Huttons Ambo, and Welburn.

Access Information

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1964 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984, 1986, 1989, 1996 and 2007.

Note

The present parish church of Terrington dates to at least the eleventh century and may be Saxon in origin. The advowson was held in part by Anketin Mallory, lord of the manor of Wiganthorpe, and his wife Sarah in 1246, when it was quitclaimed to them by the Archbishop of York.
By the fourteenth century the manor was held by the Stapletons, with the advowson of the church divided between them and the Salvin family. The Stapletons were succeeded in the lordship by the Methams, who acquired the Salvin portion and subsequently sold the whole advowson to John Micklethwaite in 1654.
The nave of the church was largely rebuilt in the twelfth century and the whole building was expanded in the fourteenth. The tower is believed to have been added in the fifteenth century. The church was restored in 1870 by architect Ewan Christian at the instigation of then rector, Samuel Wimbush. A large rectory house was built in 1827 and then replaced in 1868.
The parish includes Ganthorpe, Mowthorpe and Wiganthorpe. A chapel of ease, dedicated to St Mary Magdalene, was recorded at Ganthorpe in the first half of the sixteenth century, although this was leased to Francis Metham in 1560 and was not mentioned thereafter.
Today the parish is part of the Howardian Group benefice, which also includes Bulmer, Dalby, Huttons Ambo, and Welburn.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2007.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 15.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Registers of christenings, 1599-1813, marriages, 1599-1837, burials, 1599-1873, and banns, 1823-1900, are available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 797, 1763).
The diaries of Reverend Samuel Wimbush, rector of Terrington (1865-1908), and of his daughter Mary Wimbush, are also available on microfilm at the Institute (Reference: MFE 340-347), as are photocopies of the 1849-1891 commonplace book of Samuel Wimbush, and the 1866 diary of Mary Wimbush (Reference: Ph. 129-130).

Bibliography

Yorkshire Parish Register Society, 'The registers of Terrington, Co. York: Christenings, 1600-1812. Marriages, Burials, 1599-1812.' Transcribed and edited by William Brigg (Leeds, 1907).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193