London and Provincial Coachmakers' Society

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Executive Committee minutes, 1911-16; various membership records, 1846-1935.

Administrative / Biographical History

The society was founded in 1842/3 as the London Coachmakers' Friendly Society. At some point in time it became the London Coach Body and Carriage Makers' Trade Union before adopting the name of London and Provincial Coachmakers' Society in 1908. In 1919 it amalgamated with the Operative Coachmakers and Wheelwrights' Federal Labour Union, the London Coachsmiths and Vicemen's Trade Society and the United Kingdom Society of Coachmakers to form the National Union of Vehicle Builders.

Reference: David Lyddon, Craft unionism and industrial change : a study of the National Union of Vehicle Builders until 1939.University of Warwick PhD, 1987.

Conditions Governing Access

Prior written permission to consult the archive is required. Researchers should apply to the Mr R. Scott, TGWU, Transport House, Palace Street, London, SW1E 5JD.

Archivist's Note

The archive is listed as a sub-group of the Transport and General Workers' Union and predecessors' archive. An authority file exists for the London and Provincial Coachmakers' Society (GB 152 AAR342) and its predecessors : the London Coach Body and Carriage Makers' Trade Union (GBR 0152 AAR345); and the London Coachmakers' Friendly Society (GBR 0152 AAR346).

Custodial History

The records of the London and Provincial Coachmakers' Society and predecessors form part of the archive of the National Union of Vehicle Builders which in its turn forms part of the archive of the Transport and General Workers' Union and predecessors. The NUVB archive was split into two parts in the 1970s. Older records, including those of the London and Provincial Coachmakers' Society were deposited in the Vehicle Building and Automotive Museum established in Coventry by the Transport and General Workers' Union. The museum opened in 1976 and closed in 1980 when the records were transferred to the union's regional office and subsequently to the Modern Records Centre in June 1987. The archive has been deposited in the Centre on indefinite loan.