Minutes, 1747-1984; Congregational and managers' minutes, 1797-1809, 1814-1841, 1858-1972; Accounts, 1783-1963; Seat rents, 1792-1808; Seat letting book, 1827, 1871-1879, 1891, 1908-1954; Congregational record, 1895-1917, 1927-1936; Musical association minutes, 1890-1892; Bazaar committee minutes, 1896-1897; Membership and admissions, 1842-1848; Communion rolls, 1874-1943; Baptismal registers, 1829-1934; Marriage register, 1947-1961; Proclamation register, 1933-1977; Disjunction certificates, 1898-1902, 1906-1911; Poor fund accounts, 1896-1965; Special funds accounts, 1927-1965; Collection book, 1809-1821; Church buildings accounts, 1863-1876; Ledger, 1903-1922; Account book, Mrs Ireland's bequest, 1895-1965; Account book, Mrs Pearson's trust, 1886-1910; Account book, Mrs Ireland's monument trust, 1906-1965; Miscellaneous papers, undated.
Records of St Andrews Hope Park burgher church, United Presbyterian, United Free and Church of Scotland
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 227 CH3/1584
- Dates of Creation1747-1984
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description2.3 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
St Andrews: Hope Park originates in a burgher church in St Andrews founded in 1749, although there had been seceding worship in the town for some years before. The first minister was ordained in 1752, but there was not regular ministry thereafter in the remainder of the 18th century. A new church in North Street was opened in 1826, and because the congregation increased another new church was opened in 1865. On the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, the congregation became a United Free Church charge, under the designation St Andrews: Hope Park. This name was maintained through the union of the United Free Church and the Church of Scotland in 1929.
Sources: Robert Small, The History of the Congregations of the United Presbyterian Church 1733-1900, (Edinburgh, 1904); John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929, (Edinburgh, 1956); Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1961-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.