Society of Friends, c.1692-1791; Receipts, 1762-1810; Business, 1763-1840; Iron mongers, 1765-1791; Swansea Harbour and Shipping trade, 1786-1849; Personal and family business, 1786-1799.
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 216 RISW Pa
- Dates of Creation1692-1957
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.029 cubic metres (1 box)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
William Padley of Swansea married Elizabeth Enzor on 7 May 1766 at a Quaker ceremony. They had seven children; William (21 Feb. 1767), Mary (16 March 1768), Elizabeth ( 16 March 1768), Paul (born 1 July 1770, died 16 April 1771), Silvanus (25 May 1774), Timothy (9 Aug. 1777) and Paul (25 Dec. 1778). William and his son Silvanus Padley, appear to have been iron mongers, builders, wine merchants, timber merchants and ship chandlers, in Swansea as well as wholesalers supplying merchants in Carmarthen and other West Wales towns. William Padley was a member of the corporation of Swansea in 1787, and was an originator of the first Swansea Canal. He was also a Quaker, and by 1790 had superintendence of the Friends Burial Ground at Lammas Street, Carmarthen. William Padley died either 1800 or early 1801. Silvanus Padley married Elizabeth Wier at St. Mary's Church, Swansea on 31 October 1805. They had six children together; Mary, William, George. Silvanus, John Wier and Archibald Wier. In 1810 Silvanus Padley appears as his father's successor, and also as a harbourmaster (a position he occupied at least until 1830) and unofficial Portuguese Consul Agent.
The collection was originally catalogued at University College Library, Swansea, where an interpretation of the original order was made. This catalogue lists the items chronologically under the headings stated in Scope and content.
The records were originally held at The Royal Institution of South Wales, Swansea. From 1966 onwards the records were moved to the library in the University College, Swansea in consignments. They were transferred to West Glamorgan Archive Service in the Spring of 2004..
Compiled by Katie Millien for the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service. The catalogue can be accessed online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records transferred to the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.