Cymer Afan Comprehensive School records

Scope and Content

E/CA 1/1-2: Log books

E/CA 2/1-8: Admission registers

E/CA 3/1: Punishment book

E/CA 4/1-4: Compendiums and reports

E/CA 5/1-3: Photographs

E/CA 6/1: Plans

E/CA 7/1: School history

E/CA 8/1-2: School prospectus and magazines

E/CA 9/1-3: Other records

Administrative / Biographical History

Cymer Afan was built as a senior school in 1932 and became a Secondary Modern School in 1944. By the 1950s the school roll had increased, meaning that the school had to rent a number of additional buildings, including the English Methodist Chapel vestry, Calfaria Chapel and the old Cymer Afan Primary School. During the 1960s essential work was carried out in order to make Cymer Afan a comprehensive school. The school officially opened as a new comprehensive school by Lord Heycock on 10 May 1966. Since the late 1970s pupil numbers began to fall and the school finally closed at the end of the school year in 2019.

Access Information

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archives.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.


Accruals are possible.