Typescripts for Peake's Progress (part 1)

Scope and Content

Typescripts of selected works by Mervyn Peake, compiled by Maeve Gilmore with her autograph introductory notes for each section.


  • 'The White Chief of the Umzimbooboo Kaffirs';
  • 'The Touch o' the Ash';
  • 'Mr Slaughterboard';
  • 'The House of Darkstones';
  • 'The Weird Journey';
  • 'I Bought a Palm Tree';
  • 'The Connoisseurs';
  • 'Same Time, Same Place';
  • 'Danse Macabre';
  • 'Introduction to Drawings by Mervyn Peake';
  • 'What is Drawing?';
  • notes and jottings for a book on Peake's childhood in China;
  • explanatory notes by Mervyn's brother Lonnie on the preceding autobiographical jottings;
  • 'Boy in Darkness';
  • Maeve's notes on 'The Wit To Woo' (script not included).

Conditions Governing Access


Not Public Record(s)