Craig Ddu Slate Quarries Company records, 1882-1941, compising make books, 1882-1941; shipping of slates files, 1887-1900; memorandum and articles, 1928, 1932, 1934; and photographic plates [20th century].
Craig Ddu Slate Quarries, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Papers
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 220 Z/M/303
- Dates of Creation1882-1941
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionNot provided
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Craig Ddu Slate Quarries, an open quarry, was formerly the Manod Quarry when opened in 1800. It developed as the later name in 1840s. The quarry was never electrified. The Craig Ddu Slate Quarries Company was registered in 1917 and incorporated in 1928. Operations ceased in the 1940s, but small-scale quarrying continued.
Arranged bt type and date.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Meirionnydd Archives, Miscellaneous Collection (Dolgellau), Craig Ddu Slate Quarries, Blaenau Ffestiniog papers; Richards, Alun John A Gazeteer of the Welsh Slate Industry (Llanrwst, 1991)
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Meirionnydd Archives, the National Register of Archives and the National Library of Wales. The catalogue is available online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright laws apply.
All records deposited at Meirionnydd Archives have been retained.
The papers came into the possession of Mr Cyril Hughes.
Accruals are not expected.