Rushforth Papers

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

This small collection contains pamphlets on the history of the following churches: Christchurch, Hampshire; Deerhurst Priory, Gloucestershire; Kempley, Gloucestershire; St. Mary the Virgin, Wotton-under-edge, Gloucestershire; St. Lawrence's, Little Stanmore, Middlesex; Meister Omers, The Precincts, Canterbury, Kent; Meaux Abbey, Yorkshire; St. Peter and St. Paul, Weobley, Herefordshire; Peterchurch, Herefordshire; and Abbey Dore, Herefordshire. Also included are pamphlets on Great Cockbury or Nottingham Hill, Glocuestershire; Caerleon, Monmouthshire; Amesbury, Stonehenge and Bulford Camp, Wiltshire; Aston Hall, Warwickshire; the Yorkshire Archaeological Society's excursion to Blyth and Roche, Yorkshire, 1909; and the church history of Weybridge, Surrey. Postcards of Maxtoke Castle, Warwickshire, Amesbury church, Wiltshire, and a copy of a marriage entry from parish registers of St. Peter's collegiate church, Wolverhampton are also included. Most of the pamphlets were sent to Rushforth by the compiler or author, so many pamphlets also contain letters to Rushforth himself, as well as some research notes by Rushforth.

Administrative / Biographical History

Gordon McNeil Rushforth (1862-1938), classical scholar and antiquary, FSA, was the son of Daniel Rushforth of London, gent. He went up to Oxford as a scholar in 1881, and gained his BA degree in 1885, proceeding to MA in 1888. He was at some period the Director of the British School at Rome. He lived in Malvern Wells, Worcestershire, for many years, and had a strong interest in the history of the surrounding area and counties.

His publications include: Carlo Crivelli, 1900; Church of S. Maria Antiqua, 1902 and Latin historical inscriptions, illustrating the history of the early empire, 1893

Conditions Governing Access

Usual EUL arrangements apply.

Note

Listed by Charlotte Berry, Archivist, 21 April 2004 and encoded into EAD 1 June 2004.

Other Finding Aids

Currently unlisted.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual EUL restrictions apply.

Custodial History

Transferred from Exeter Cathedral in 2001.

Related Material

See EUL MS 30A Rushforth for the professional and working papers of Rushforth, c1880-1930. EUL MS 30B was also bequeathed to the Library at the same time as MS 30A. See also EUL MS 227 Rushforth for various volumes of his work The stained glass of Great Malvern Priory Church, containing b/w copy photographs taken by Sydney A. Pitcher. See also EUL MS 249 Pitcher for a postcard collection associated with Sydney A. Pitcher, the photographer of The stained glass of Great Malvern Priory Church.

Bibliography

Not known.

Genre/Form