Cowbridge Grammar School, Letter Books

Scope and Content

Cowbridge Grammar School Letter Books comprising of letter books, 1921-1947

Administrative / Biographical History

The Free School, known originally as the Cowbridge Grammar School, Cowbridge, Glamorgan, was founded in 1608, and moved to its present site in 1617. The patron of the school in its early days was Sir John Stradling (1563-1637). In 1665, the school was permanently endowed by Sir Leoline Jenkins (?1625-85), Secretary of State in the reign of Charles II (1630-85). From this date until 1919, the school was governed by the Principal and Fellows of Jesus College, Oxford. The school was notable for its classical tuition, and many prominent men of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries were educated there in early life. In the 17th century, it was the only school offering secondary education in the county of Glamorgan. The main portion of the school house was constructed between 1847-1852, on the site of the earlier buildings, and around 1890, under the headmastership of Rev. W. F. Evans, a further building was added. From 1919, the school was governed by a joint body composed of representatives of Jesus College and the Glamorgan Education Authority. Cowbridge Grammar School became a comprehensive school in September 1973.

Arrangement

Arranged chronologically by record series

Conditions Governing Access

No Restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Gwyn and Gwyn solicitors, Cowbridge, 2003

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Annabel Wickham for the ANW Project; Sources used: Glamorgan Record Office finding aids

Conditions Governing Use

Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply

Appraisal Information

All records offered have been accepted and listed

Accruals

Accruals are possible